Testimonial-JoelFriedlander

Testimonial-MarkCoker

Testimonial-ScottJames

Testimonial-PennyRosenwasser

Testimonial-RosieMcGee

Testimonial-LizJansen

Carol Levow - Self-Publishing Boot Camp Author Success with Carla King

Andreas Ramos Big Book of Content Marketing Carla King Testimonial


Carla King is the Ninja goddess of self-publishing.
-Norm DeWitt, Powersports Author

Kind, insightful, generous and a calm librarian of current information.
-Louise Chegwidden, Nonfiction Author

What a treat to have someone just straight up tell you the truth.
-Scott James, Nonfiction Author

Carla King is the CEO of all the geeky publishing advisors I know.
-Marla Miller, Marketing the Muse

Concise, step-by-step guidance and vetting of resources.
-Katy Tackes, Spiritual book author

Carla King is the geek publishing motorcycle dream girl.
-Ron Martinez, Aerbook

Making it simple and straightforward for the rest of us!
-Karen Fritz, Adventure travel author

What a blessing to find someone in the midst of the maelstrom that is the constantly changing self-publishing industry, who is kind, insightful, generous and a calm librarian of current information. Carla has been supportive and instructive above and beyond. -Louise Chegwidden, Author, Granny Gets a New Knee


July 7, 2014

Indie Author Katy TackesDear Carla,

I wanted to drop you a note of gratitude. Without your great advice and guidance on how to self-publish, I would still be lost and most likely frustrated to the point of giving up.

I had never pursued being an author or even writing a novel until very recently. Once I completed the work, I had no idea of what the next steps were or how to go about executing them. Each Time She WakesBy chance, I saw that you were doing a seminar on Self-Publishing, which I honestly had not considered up until my visit to your website. I had heard horror stories of ridiculous costs and being taken advantage of one’s inexperience by a few bad seeds in the industry.

Once I made my through the wealth of knowledge in your website, newsletters and book I had the power to turn this novel into my destiny. Without your concise, step-by-step guidance and vetting of resources my novel would never have come into fruition.

Thank you for sharing your knowledge, experience and resources. You’re the best!

Sincerely,
Katy Tackes
Author, Each Time She Wakes
Get it in print and ebook formats.

Read this interview with Katy Tackes. It’s an interesting story.


Self-Pub Boot Camp Success - Art of Adventure, Karen Fritz
May 2014

Dear Carla,

I went to your talk at Horizons Unlimited in 2012 because a non-techie friend wanted to write a book. You made it so clear, I knew I could help him. So I went home and got your book and read it (really!).

Then two months later, a book idea found me! Within three days, I’d gathered 75 photos and quotes, done a layout, uploaded a pdf to createspace, and ordered myself a copy of my “blank” book to be my journal to write the book into! Your idea to order half-done copies as my own motivation was perfect!

I wrote. And I carried that journal-copy everywhere. I had friends write blessings into it. Even when I spent several months extremely ill, I kept “my book” close ~ because the pictures and the message even helped keep my own spirits up!

Now as my health has returned, so has my muse. The writing has come together and I’m uploading my final proof so I can check it carefully and push the PUBLISH button.

Thank you so much for the research you put into Self Publishing Boot Camp, and making it simple and straightforward for the rest of us!

Sincerely,
Karen Fritz, AUTHOR! The Art of Adventure


October 2013

As a first-time self-publisher, I don’t know what I would have done without Carla’s Self-Publishing Boot Camp workshop as well as the Guide for Authors she provided for the students to take home. It’s invaluable! Comprehensive, user-friendly, and short enough that you can read it quickly and get on with publishing your book. Plus, Carla then became available to me via email when I needed advice about how to proceed–a huge boon in what can be such an isolating process. Thank you, thank you Carla! –Penny Rosenwasser, Ph.D., author, Hope into Practice, Jewish Women Choosing Justice, Despite Our Fears

More testimonials…

This boot camp saved me many hours of research and countless mistakes I would have made. – Scott James

Thank you for two of the most informative seminars I’ve ever attended at a conference. I was so jazzed! – Samantha Li

Her book was my roadmap for the distribution strategy for [my Big Book of Content Management]. – Andreas Ramos

I would most definitely encourage reading posts by Jane Friedman, Carla King, Joanna Penn, and Guy Kawasaki… these are my personal go-to sources. – Hyla Molander, My Drop Dead Life in the Scribd Blog

Read the detailed testimonials below…

July, 2013

Content Management Expert Andreas Ramos used the Self-Publishing Boot Camp Guide for Authors as his guide to self-publishing his Big Book of Content Marketing, reviewed in Forbes Magazine! Looks what he has to say:

There are a number of books on digital publishing. Guy Kawasaki’s APE: How to Publish a Book (Nonoia Press, 2012) is a quick overview. A better resource is Carla King’s Self-Publishing Boot Camp Guide for Authors (SelfPubBootCamp.com, 2nd ed., 2013). Carla has written seven books and teaches courses on self-publishing. Her book explains the options for producing and distributing your book. Her book was my roadmap for the distribution strategy for this book. - Andreas Ramos, Content Market Expert, author of The Big Book of Content Marketing


September 24, 2012

Samantha Le, Author, Poet

Central Coast Writers Conference

Thank you for two of the most informative seminars I’ve ever attended at a conference. I was so jazzed. I went home and opened a public Facebook page, signed up for a Twitter account and fixed my blog. It’s still a work in progress, and I’m in contact with my hosting company to figure out how to move it to www.samanthale.com where I have my static page. Being such a private person, I’ve been struggling to get over this mental barrier to promote myself online. And I can’t tell you what it means to finally be able to act on something that has been gnawing at me. I also purchased your boot camp book for when I get ready to self-publish the second edition of my novel. You’re an inspiration.


May 3, 2012

Reviewer: Scott James (San Francisco, California)

TAKE THIS BOOT CAMP. Do yourself a favor. I took the half day with Carla and Laurie and I can’t say enough good things about it. They are both straight-forward and deeply experienced in their fields. CARLA IS HONEST AND AWESOME AND CLEARLY HAS THE BEST INTERESTS OF ATTENDEES IN MIND. She didn’t try to sell me anything, all she did was tell me exactly what I needed to know to do self-publishing the right way for me. What a treat to have someone just straight up tell you the truth. This boot camp saved me many hours of research and countless mistakes I would have made. TAKE THIS BOOT CAMP.


June 4, 2010

Reviewer: Judy Cullins (La Mesa, California)

This is a great blueprint to get your first book started. It helps you set goals, develop a plan for design inside-and-out and even your promotion platform–all one step at a time. As a long time book coach with a related how to book, I applaud Carla and Lisa for a good model!


May 31, 2010

Reviewer: Sam Barry and Kathi Kamen Goldmark (San Francisco, CA)

A no-nonsense guide that demystifies the non-traditional publishing process. Carla and Lisa share experienced tips about how to create more demand and, ultimately, sales. –, The Author Enablers http://www.bookpage.com/author-enablers/


May 9, 2010

Reviewer: Susan Casslan (San Francisco, Ca)

Excellent class! The instructors are very dedicated to their work and to the success of self publishing authors. I got my money’s worth and more so!


May, 2010
Liz Jansen: Women, Motorcycles and the Road to Empowerment

I kept The Self-Publishing Boot Camp Guide for Authors in sight the whole time I was publishing my book. As a new author, I found it invaluable in educating me on all the details and nuances one needs to consider. The structure and organization were wonderful in clarifying what could seem like an overwhelming process. Best of all, it gave me peace of mind, knowing it was put together by an expert who has done it.


 


January 31, 2010

Reviewer: Bonnie Portnoy (San Rafael, CA)

I attended the Self-Publishing Boot Camp yesterday and LOVED it. Thank you sincerely for an outstanding, enlightening seminar. I would recommend your workshop to anyone thinking about writing a book. You two presented a wealth of self-publishing information (and the workbook) for an incredible value. Most important, you delivered that critically important “dose of reality” that all writers must hear in the earliest stages of their quest to publish.


January 6, 2010

Reviewer: Joel Friedlander (Mill Valley, CA)

A terrific way to organize your tasks and progress as you travel the path of self-publishing your book. If you are naturally organized it will clarify everything you need to do. If you are disorganized, it may help you stay on track. You’ll get a real sense of accomplishment as you use the opportunity to plan your publication with the help of experienced and trusted guides. And if you get motivated by checking off items from a list, you are really going to like this book. Read more at http://ow.ly/TcUO


November 9, 2009

Reviewer: Deborah Santana (Marin, CA)

I published my memoir with Ballantine books in 2005 and, although it was a fantastic experience, I have no idea if I can sell my second memoir to a big house publishing company. I took the Self-Publishing Boot Camp Workshop to learn about the work involved in creating my own book with all of the artwork, photos, and poetry I might desire. Lisa and Carla gave a comprehensive explanation of timelines, marketing strategy and materials, branding, print companies, distribution, ebook categories and their own experiences. I left the workshop inspired, feeling competent and up to the challenge to self-publish if I so choose. I bonded with these remarkable writing women and will continue to learn more from them.


October 29, 2009

Reviewer: Paula Holland (San Francisco, CA)

I thoroughly enjoyed the October 4th Boot Camp at Fort Mason and have learned a ton about the publishing business that will definitely benefit me as I move towards publishing my book, Transition 120, and other works.


October 17, 2009

Reviewer: Jack Shandle (San Francisco, CA)

Lots of good information in the self-publishing workshop and, best of all, the workshop leaders practice what they preach.


A great blueprint to get your first book started. It helps you set goals, develop a plan for design inside-and-out and even your promotion platform–all one step at a time. As a long time book coach with a related how to book, I applaud this good model! —Judy Cullins, author of How to Write Your eBook or Other Short Book – Fast!


I left the workshop inspired, feeling competent and up to the challenge to self-publish if I so choose. —Deborah Santana, author of Space Between the Stars


Your workshop was so valuable to me in the design stages… —Carolyn Jones, author of Opening the Gates of the Heart

Lots of good information in the self-publishing workshop and, best of all, the workshop leaders practice what they preach. —Jack Shandle, Chief editor of two major OEM publications


I have learned a ton about the publishing business that will definitely benefit me as I move towards publishing my book, Transition 120, and other works. —Paula Holland, author, What’s Next for My Life?


06/12/2010

Blog review: Self-Publishing presentation by Lisa Alpine and Carla King at Bay Area Independent Publishers Assoc.

“Since this process cannot be covered in a 45-minute presentation, Lisa and Carla decided to concentrate on distribution options, since many new forms of distribution are coming into play over the next few months. In the presentation that followed, these two authors and teachers showed that they know how to keep an audience entertained and, rather than stick strictly to the distribution subject, threw out lots of information, tips, and encouragement for the 50 or 60 people in attendance.” Read more here


Hearing Lisa and Carla’s enthusiasm for building their on-line platform made me want me to get more involved with mine. — Jennifer Robin, Growing More Beautiful


August 2, 2010

Reviewer: Christy Pinheiro (Oak Grove, CA)

This is a useful, well-designed tool for authors who want to self publish. It’s the first self-publishing guide I’ve seen that was designed with a step-by-step theme that encourages author interaction (the author is expected to write in his/her own answers, like “your elevator speech” and “your bio.” The authors thought of everything in order to make this book easier to use– even the binding is spiral-bound so the pages will stay open and you can fold pages back easily and take it anywhere. Nice touch. I felt like the books could have had a little more information about POD printing services, since I feel that that’s the wave of the future, but I can’t really downgrade the author for that because it’s a difference of opinion that I share with other self-publishers as well. I think that this is a good product for newbies and a real tactile way to get your thoughts and business organized before you decide to self-publish. It’s basically a workbook with good pointers throughout. Lots of good direction for newbies.